top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJennie Long

Turkey Hunting and Doctors

Joshua was up around 0230, ate breakfast at 4 and departed camp at 0430. I slept in to around 0730 but its hard to keep sleeping when you are in such a beautiful place. Breakfast for the hunters was a quick bite of cereal, yogurt and assorted juices such as orange, mango, peach and pineapple. They then returned to a big breakfast of eggs and sausage.

After Joshua left in the morning I woke up with a UTI. I tried to hold off until he came back but I had no idea when he would be back so I informed the staff and they quickly took me to a small clinic in Alfredo V Bonfil. I saw a doctor and he ordered Gentamycin injections and pain medication. Gentamycin is an intermuscular injection and he almost forgot to give me syringes and needles. All of the medication and supplies were right there in the little building. While I’m not sure how great my care was I can say that it was cheap and fast. Thirty-five dollars got me an exam, 3 medications, syringes and needles, cotton balls, and alcohol. Hopefully all of these things work quickly because I’m not ready to go home!

Joshua returned to the camp before me and had a few moments of panic when he couldn’t find me, then heard they took me to the doctor. I was very happy to see him when I got back and to find out he had killed his turkey. I was going to have Joshua write his experience here but then remembered that he spends 4 hours on a Facebook post and realized maybe a video was a better way to go.

Anyway after he returned and I took some medicine and was feeling better we hung out with the other hunters. Tracken shot a bird this morning as well and now only needs his Osceola to finish his World Slam. Now 4 of 8 hunters have killed turkey.

Three hunters will be leaving at 0500 tomorrow morning while the reminder continue hunting and relaxing. Lunch was meatballs in a Mexican flavored tomato sauce with rice and tortillas. It, like everything else, was very good. If the chef here had a cookbook I would absolutely buy it.

After lunch Joshua an I took a cool relaxing dip in the pool and watched the birds and wildlife. We were even lucky enough to see a lizard of some type on the cabana post.

While we were in the pool Joshua said, “If we were to do this at home right now we’d be dead”. A very accurate statement if I must say. We cleaned up after to pool, ate a few snacks and caught up on correspondence while we waited for dinner. We snuck in a few games of pool before dinner and I won both of them.

Dinner was Tuna steaks with pasta and salad. It was good but definitely my least favorite so far.

The dessert on the other hand was amazing. It was a frozen cheesecake with mango chunks and blueberry sauce.

After dinner we chatted with the other hunters. Jeff definitely has the best stories. He told us about a time when he went hunting for javalina. He shot it in the back leg with one arrow then missed with the other 2 broad heads he had with him. It started coming after him so he filled it full of field points and it still didn’t die so when it got to him he had to pull out the broad head from the leg and shoot it again and he finally died. It was hilarious to hear him tell it and he had the entire table laughing. After that we strolled under the lights and stars and headed to bed.





22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page